Language requirements

In the public service positions require knowledge of English, French or both English and French. When both official languages are required, the position is designated "bilingual".

The manager is responsible for determining the language requirements of a position. This determination is based on an objective assessment of the duties and responsibilities of the position. If the position requires the knowledge of both official languages, the manager must also determine the proficiency level, in English and in French, in each of three language skills: Reading, Writing and Oral Interaction. The proficiency levels which can be assigned to each skill are: A (beginner), B (intermediate), C (advanced). In addition, certain positions requiring specialized training or expert proficiency could be assigned Code P.

The requirements of a bilingual position are summarized in a language profile, such as the following:

  Reading Writing Oral
Interaction
English C B C
French C B C

A CBC/CBC profile means that a person whose first official language is French must possess the CBC level in English and a person whose first official language is English must possess the CBC level in French.

Second language proficiency is assessed by means of tests. Click here for information on the tests used by the public service.

Before staffing a bilingual position, the manager must also decide if the position will be staffed on an imperative or non-imperative basis. An imperative appointment means that the language requirements of the position must be met at the time of appointment. A non-imperative appointment means that the position can be staffed with a person who agrees to become bilingual through language training at government expense.

In determining if you will apply for a bilingual position, you should consider :

  1. whether the position is being staffed on an imperative or non-imperative basis; and
  2. the extent to which your second language proficiency corresponds to the requirements of the position.

Consult the frequently asked questions about second language requirements.

Find more information on bilingual positions in the public service.

Definitions

First official language : The official language (English or French) with which an employee has a primary personal identification (that is, the official language in which a person is generally more proficient).

Exigences linguistiques

Dans la fonction publique du Canada, les postes exigent la connaissance du français, de l'anglais ou du français et de l'anglais. Lorsque la connaissance des deux langues officielles est requise, le poste est désigné "bilingue".

Il incombe au gestionnaire d'établir les exigences linguistiques d'un poste. Cette décision se fonde sur une évaluation objective des fonctions et responsabilités du poste. Si le poste exige la connaissance des deux langues officielles, le gestionnaire doit aussi décider du niveau de compétence, en français et en anglais, dans chacune des trois compétences linguistiques : la compréhension de l'écrit, l'expression écrite et l'interaction orale. Les niveaux qui peuvent s'appliquer à chaque compétence sont : A (débutant), B (intermédiaire), C (avancé). De plus, certains postes qui requièrent une formation spécialisée ou une compétence d'expert pourraient exiger la cote "P".

Les exigences d'un poste bilingue se résument dans le profil linguistique, dont voici un exemple :

  Compréhension
de l'écrit
Expression
écrite
Expression
orale
Français C B C
Anglais C B C

Un profil CBC/CBC signifie qu'une personne dont la première langue officielle est le français doit posséder le niveau CBC en anglais et qu'une personne dont la première langue officielle est l'anglais doit posséder le niveau CBC en français.

La compétence en langue seconde est évaluée au moyen de tests. Cliquez ici pour obtenir des renseignements sur les tests utilisés par la fonction publique fédérale.

Avant de combler un poste bilingue, le gestionnaire doit aussi décider si le poste sera doté de façon impérative ou non impérative. Une nomination impérative signifie qu'on doit satisfaire aux exigences linguistiques du poste au moment de la nomination. Une nomination non-impérative signifie que le poste peut être comblé par une personne qui s'engage à devenir bilingue par l'entremise de formation linguistique aux frais de l'État.

Lorsque vous examinez la possibilité de soumettre votre candidature à un poste désigné bilingue, vous devriez prendre en considération :

  1. le fait que le poste est doté de façon impérative ou non-impérative, et
  2. la mesure dans laquelle votre compétence en langue seconde correspond aux exigences du poste.

Consultez les questions posées fréquemment au sujet des exigences en matière de langue seconde.

Renseignez-vous sur les postes bilingues dans la fonction publique fédérale.

Définition

Première langue officielle : La langue (le français ou l'anglais) à laquelle l'employé s'identifie le mieux (la langue officielle dans laquelle une personne est généralement la plus compétente).