Degree Equivalency

If you went to school outside of Canada

  • If you were educated outside of Canada, you must have your certificates and/or diplomas assessed against Canadian education standards. This will enable you to provide proof of Canadian equivalency when applying for a job in the public service. The public service will accept any Foreign Educational Credentials as long as they are deemed comparable to Canadian standards, through a recognized credential assessment service.
  • Getting a Canadian equivalency is easier than it sounds. The Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials (CICIC) assists persons who wish to obtain an assessment of their educational, professional, and occupational credentials by referring them to the appropriate organizations.
  • The CICIC does not itself grant equivalencies or assess credentials, nor does it intervene on behalf of individuals or in complaints to PSST. The CICIC can be contacted at www.cicic.ca. Their Web site provides links to a number of Canadian organizations that provide equivalency assessments. As well, you may contact the CICIC at:

    95 St. Clair Avenue West, Suite 1106
    Toronto, Ontario, M4V 1N6
    Tel: 416-962-9725
    Fax: 416-962-2800
    E-mail: info@cicic.ca

Équivalence des diplômes

Si vous avez étudié ailleurs qu'au Canada

  • Si vous avez effectué vos études à l'étranger, vous devez faire évaluer vos certificats et(ou) diplômes en fonction des normes de scolarité canadienne. Ceci vous permettra de fournir une preuve d'équivalence canadienne au moment de postuler un emploi au sein de la fonction publique fédérale. Celle-ci acceptera tout diplôme obtenu à l'étranger qui est considéré comparable aux normes canadiennes par l'entremise d'un service d'évaluation de diplômes reconnu.
  • Il est plus facile qu'il ne le semble d'obtenir une équivalence canadienne. Le Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux (CICDI) vient en aide aux personnes qui souhaitent obtenir une évaluation de leurs diplômes d'études et compétences professionnelles en les dirigeant vers l'organisme compétent.
  • Il ne revient pas au CICDI d'attribuer les équivalences, d'évaluer les critères de mérite ni d'intervenir au nom des personnes ou dans le cadre des plaintes au TDFP. Vous pouvez consulter leur site Web à l'adresse www.cicic.ca. Leur site propose des liens vers un certain nombre d'organismes canadiens qui fournissent des services d'évaluation d'équivalence. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec le CICDI :

    95, avenue St. Clair Ouest, bureau 1106
    Toronto (Ontario) M4V 1N6
    Téléphone : 416-962-9725
    Télécopieur : 416-962-2800
    Courriel : info@cicic.ca